Welcome to the New South Wales Speedway Riders Association.

This Club is full of people whose aim is to provide a place for enthusiastic competitors to learn their craft and perhaps evolve into international level riders.

It is a Club run by bike and sidecar people for solo and sidecar people.

The running of such a Club requires a lot of time and if you feel that you could lend a hand then please do not hesitate to contact us.

The Club promotes motor cycle speedway racing and regularly holds meetings at  Nepean Raceway, Castlereagh, Sydney and work closely with the Kurri Kuri speedway at Kurri Kurri.

Nepean meetings are run in the daytime during winter season and  start around 10am. Please check out our listed meetings in the dates section.

Speedway racing is great fun and we cater for all riders, all ages and all abilities, however our top riders do take to the international stage and race professionally world wide.

For more information, contact president Mick Holder on mick_holder@hotmail.com or call 0400 304 900.


Kurri Kurri Speedway 8th April 2017
Posted 18 April, 2017

Meeting Scores                                                         Overall Series Points 
1 – Matt Gilmore             3, 3, 3, 3, 3 =  15pts                  20
2 – Jordan Stewart         2, 3, 3, 3, 3 = 14pts                   18
3 – Ben Cook                 2, 3, 2, 3, 1 = 11pts                   17
4 – Alan MacDonald        3, 2, 1, 2, 3 = 11pts                   16
5 -  Jaimon Lidsey          1, 1, 3, 3, 2 = 10pts                   15
6 – Zaine Kennedy         3, 1, 3, 1, 1 = 9pts                     14
7 – Matthew Pickering    2, 2, 2, 1, 2 = 9pts                     13
8 – Josh MacDonald       T, 2, 2, 2, 2, = 8pts                    12
9 – Taylor Poole            3, FX, 1, 2, 1 = 7pts                   11
10 – Cooper Riordan       2, 1, 0, 0, 3 = 6pts                     10
11 – Kane Lawrence      1, 2, 2, 0, 1 = 6pts                       9
12 – Mitchell Cluff         1, 3, 0, 1, 0 + 5pts                       8
13 – Keiran Sproule       T, EF, FX, 2, 2 = 4pts                    7
14 – Declan Kennedy     1, 0, 1, 1, 0 = 3pts                       6
15 – James Davies        T, 1, EF, 0, DNS = 1pt                   5
16 – Jake Shneiders      0, EF, withdrew = 0pts                  4

1st J Lidsey, 2nd Z Kennedy, 3rd A MacDonald, 4th M Pickering

1st M Gilmore, 2nd J Stewart, 3rd B Cook, 4th J Lidsey

Cowra’s Matt Gilmore has set the pace for the ROCK OIL winter series for 2017, a full 16 rider line-up lined up for RD 1 at Kurri Kurri speedway. Gilmore was in good form and was unbeaten on the day, Gilmore led the A final from the tapes and fended off the spirited riding from Mildura’s Jordan Stewart, Cowra’s Ben Cook was able to hold off the challenge from Midura’s  Jaymon Lidsey in the later stages to run third.  Gilmore was very impressive throughout the day and was a deserving winner
Taylor Poole was very quick in the heats but suffered some mechanical issues which ruined his day, the MacDonald brothers Alan and Josh were very impressive along  with Matthew Pickering and Zaine Kennedy.  James Davies must have run over a black cat earlier as he suffered some bad luck  a tape touch in his first outing then a snapped chain in another heat put paid to his chances of a final place, newcomers to the senior ranks Declan Kennedy and Mitchell Cluff both rode well in the tough competition, Cluff picking up an impressive heat win. Keiran Sproule also had an unlucky day starting with a tape touch and then  mechanical issues. Kane  Lawrence was smooth and impressive, Mildura’s Cooper Riordan had a frustrating day by his standards and poor Jake Schnieders engine decided to disintegrate itself early in the day which ruined his chances of further points. Overall a fantastic  day of close racing on a well prepped race track which allowed some very close racing at some stages riders rubbing each other through the corners, great entertainment for the spectators.

Round two of the Rock Oil winter series will be held at the new Woodstock circuit at  Cowra  on Saturday 13th May.

Nominations for riders (senior and Juniors) close on the  7th May, riders are urged to get in early by contacting Steve Kurtz 0415 480 160 .

8th April Kurri Kurri Speedway
Posted 18 April, 2017

17 junior 125 riders contested the first round of the LKI Winter Series held at the Kurri Kurri Speedway complex, the racing  was fast and furious with riders  racing bar to bar all day on the well prepared racing surface. Mildura’s Connor Bailey was the standout rider, a well deserved victory racing through his heats and the A final undefeated. Jack Miles from the kurri club was runner up, with Cowra’s pocket rocket Mozza Brown third and Bradley Page rounding out the final top four placings.

Some very spirited riding from all riders throughout the heats with a few riders showing that they will be in the contention for the series win at the conclusion of the seven rounds, including the stylish  Bailey Viner, Jasper Freebairn, Aiden Phillips, Jackson Harris , Nathan Garman and Lex Tracey, the pocket rockets who are smaller than there machines but ride the wheels off them  included  Tom Drane who placed third in the B final, James Pearson, Lachlan Hayes and Tristan Ayres these little fellas were very impressive with their handling of their machines, some impressive riding  from Josh Watson, Matthew Brown, Nate Simpson.

The next round is sure to be a beauty at the Woodstock circuit.Round Two of the LKI winter series will be held on the 13th May at the Woodstock circuit, Cowra.

All riders are requested to nominate to Steve Kurtz on 0415 480 160 closing date for nominations is the 7th May

Pool A                                                                      Pool B
Connor Bailey        15pts                                Jack Miles                 15pts
Maurice Brown      14pts                                 Tom Drane                 9pts
Bradley page        13pts                                 Bailey Viner                9pts
Josh Watson        10pts                                 James Pearson            8pts
Aiden Phillips         9pts                                  Jasper Freebairn          8pts
Lachlan Hayes       8pts                                  Jackson Harris             5pts
Lex Tracey           8pts                                  Matthew Brown           4pts
Nathan Garman      7pts                                  Nate Simpson             2pts
Tristan Ayres         5pts

B Final
1st Maurice Brown, 2nd Bradley page, 3rd Tom Drane, 4th Bailey Viner
A Final

1st Connor Bailey, 2nd Jack Miles, 3rd Maurice Brown, 4th Bradley page

Website designed by David Batten (c) 2017
visitors so far!
Contact Us:
Mick Holder 0400 304 900 or
email mick_holder@hotmail.com

Rod Colquhoun – 0409 366 713

2017 Calendar :
Nominations/Enquires to ride at the meetings below, please call

Kurri Kurri Cobra:
Peter Campton 0450 270 070

Nepean NSWSRA:
Track Caretaker:
Jaide Nicholls 02 4776 11225
Mick Holder 0400 304 900
or  mick_holder@hotmail.com

Sponsored by :

Heffernan Motorsports
Tim Heffernan 0407 846 433
for all your speedway spares

Nepean are presently licencing a Junior track for 125cc solo & 250cc sidecar

Enquiries to:
Geoff Watson 0412 960 300 or
Graham Stewart 0407 275 158

NSWSRA enquiries:
Mick Holder – 0400 304 900
Nepean Wet Weather Line:
0247 761 225

Please go to the Nepean Motorsports Club website for Practice days at Nepean. (These days are run by the NMSC not NSWSRA)
Heffernan Motorsports